top of page

Voices of the Niagara Movement

August 11, 2024 at 7:00:00 PM

Stephen T. Mather Training Center, Mather Place, Harpers Ferry, WV, USA

Celebrate the legacy of the Niagara Movement and their lasting impact on music and society

Imagine a summer afternoon filled with the vibrant sounds of jazz and the powerful echoes of history. The Appalachian Chamber Music Festival and the National Park Service invite you to a free concert unlike any other, celebrating the legacy of the Niagara Movement.

This concert celebrates the groundbreaking organization that paved the way for the NAACP. The Niagara Movement held its meetings at the historic Storer College in Harpers Ferry, West Virginia, where this performance takes place.

The afternoon unfolds with a captivating program that bridges past and present. The renowned Howard Burns Quartet brings the vibrant energy of jazz to the stage, a genre that owes much to the fight for equality championed by the Niagara Movement. Featuring works by Storer College graduate and early 20th century musician, Don Redman.

The second half of the program highlights the world premiere of a new chamber work about the Niagara movement by Rufus Reid, living jazz legend and Don Redman Award winner. A true innovator, Reid's composition promises to be a powerful testament to the enduring spirit of the Niagara Movement's vision.

The program also includes a selection of enthralling chamber works by acclaimed Black American composers.  This is a unique opportunity to experience the rich tapestry of music created by artists who continue to build upon the legacy of those who fought for a more just and equitable world.

Don't miss this chance to:

  • Enjoy a free afternoon concert under the open sky 

  • Witness the captivating sounds of the Howard Burns Quartet

  • Be among the first to experience Rufus Reid: World Premiere - a new chamber work written for this occasion by a living jazz icon

  • Celebrate the legacy of the Niagara Movement and their lasting impact on music and society


Guest Artists | The Howard Burns Quartet

Clarinet | Stanislav Golovin

Violin | Martin Gwilym-Jones, Rachelle Hunt, Chris Jusell, Minju Kim, Audrey Pride

Viola | Sam Kelder, Danielle Wiebe Burke

Cello | Katie Tertell, Alán Saucedo, Schuyler Slack

Bass | Sam Suggs



The Howard Burns Quartet


Florence Price: Folksongs in Counterpoint (1951)

Calvary. Adagio vigoroso

Drink to Me Only with Thine Eyes. Andante cantabile

Shortnin´ Bread. Allegro

George Walker: Lyric for Strings (1946/1990)

John Musto, arr. Craig West: Litany from Shadow of the Blues for Voice and Strings

Jessie Montgomery: Source Code for String Quartet (2013) 

Selections of arrangements from Don Redman

Rufus Reid: World Premiere (2024)

Please note: All anticipated programs and musicians are subject to changes

bottom of page